+91-8146892022, +91-8146242022   |   capstoneacademy.co.in

Best CLAT Coaching In Chandigarh

India's Top Coaching Academy with Best Study Materials and Reowned Faculties

How to become a lawyer?

Before answering this question, let’s understand who a lawyer is. A lawyer is a person who is qualified to practice law by either providing legal advice to a company/individual or by representing them in legal matters. One cannot practice law without having a license. In countries like Mexico, anyone who has a valid law degree can practice law, however, in many countries, passing the ‘Bar Examination’ is necessary. In India as well, one has to pass the bar examination called the ‘All India Bar Examination (AIBE)’ to become a certified lawyer. The government of India made AIBE mandatory for all law students from the academic year 2015-2016 onwards. But before giving the AIBE, having a law degree (LLB) is mandatory.


The bachelor of Legislative law is often called LLB after the Latin term Legum Baccalaureus. LLB is an undergraduate law course. You have a choice between two courses if you want to be a lawyer. One is the 3-year course for which graduation is necessary. Another is the 5-year integrated BA LLB (Hons.) course for those without graduation. There are other types of integrated courses as well such as BSc. LLB and BBA LLB. The candidates applying for an LLB or LLM (a postgraduate law degree) must pass an entrance exam. There are many entrance exams for different colleges such as CLAT, LSAT, AILET, LAWCET, etc.


CLAT – Common Law Admission Test is an all India entrance exam for admission in LLB or LLM in some of the top universities in India.
The institutes giving admission on the basis of CLAT are:

  • National Law School of India (Bangalore)
  • Nalsar University of Law (Hyderabad)
  • The West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences (Kolkata)
  • National Law University, Jodhpur (Jodhpur)
  • National Law Institute University (Bhopal)
  • Gujarat National Law University (Gandhinagar)
  • Maharashtra National Law University (Mumbai)
  • Hidayatullah National Law University (Raipur)
  • Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia National Law University (Lucknow)
  • Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law (Patiala)
  • Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law (Kochi)
  • Chanakya National Law University (Patna)
  • National Law University, Orissa (Cuttack)
  • National University of Study and Research in Law (Ranchi)
  • National Law University and Judicial Academy, Assam (Guwahati)
  • Maharashtra National Law University (Nagpur)
  • Tamil Nadu National Law School (Tiruchirappalli)
  • Damodaram Sanjivayya National Law University (Visakhapatnam)